“These Are the Times That Try Men’s Souls” (women’s in this case) 6/25/18

The title of this blog is a quote from The Crucible, which I read in high school. It describes my mood perfectly because today was a very blah “I’m not feeling it” kind of day. Oh how my patience was being tested! It is a Monday after all, so I guess it’s appropriate. Today was rather uneventful and frustrating all in the same instant. We met with our group this morning to assess the data from our community and pick the most prevalent issues we would like to focus on for our program. Unfortunately, my converter (which has shocked me on several occasions) finally pushed it to the edge. It fried my laptop charger and broke it, so my computer is dead and since I can’t charge it, I can’t use it. I felt completely useless without my computer while Haley pulled the information up on her laptop ( even though my computer is a slow difficult machine to work with as is, this was just the cherry on top!). Later in the afternoon, we met with Dr. Cathorall to discuss our plans before moving forward with the group. We had planned to meet on main campus. Haley couldn’t sleep the night before and was tired so I decided to go alone and let her get some rest. Once I got to main campus, I looked at my phone and saw that Dr. Cathorall had messaged me and said she was coming to the Lady Irene campus, this is where I had just come from. I literally wanted to kick myself! How did I not see this before! After walking back up the hill I had just come down (believe me I needed the exercise because I took a boda there) we met as planned, and Dr. Cathorall liked our ideas! We were excited to share the feedback with the group, and we had planned to meet with them soon after our meeting with her. Despite letting everyone know this beforehand much earlier in the day, no one came to the meeting. Haley and I sat and waited for 45 minutes and no one showed up. We accepted our defeat and moved on. I don’t know how she felt, but at that point I was ready to just throw the whole day away.

Everyone has an off day every once and a while, and today was DEFINITELY just one of those days for me.

A good night’s rest and all shall be forgotten!

Leave a comment