Volleyball with the Pros 6/27/18

Today I was still feeling a little anxious about yesterday’s group meetings as we tried to continue on with the planning process. We went as a group with Dr. Cathorall to the library on campus to start doing some research and just explore the available resources at their disposal. I’m not sure how much work actually got done at the library because Haley and I did not have access to the internet on our laptops, and none of our team was registered with the library to be able to access the databases, so a lot of the time was used to get them situated with that. Also, there was a brief power outage while we were at the library which set us back a bit as well because of course the computers shut down. These last few days have got me in a bit of a rut, but I’m trying to work through it. After leaving the library, Haley went to ICT to do some work, but I seriously was just out of it. Some of the other SIUE students had promised to go watch the volleyball practice and soccer game so I decided to tag along. Cheyenne got on the court and convinced Arné, Kayla, and Bri to join in on the volleyball practice as well. They were out there bumping, setting, and spiking with Ndejje’s best! It was a treat to see and really helped to lighten my mood. I would have joined in, but next to wood ball, volleyball is literally my worst sport ever. I would’ve gotten throw off the court for sure.

I realized something that being here at Ndejje has taught me. The little fun and silly moments in life are what you remember, even when you have a rough go at things, it is the joy that you feel that stands out against all else. In this last few days I have felt a bit defeated in my work, but I have also made a good handful of new friends that I wish I could have met 3 weeks ago instead of 3 days ago. I really want to just spend my last couple of days here treasuring the friendships that have been created with the people here and with the other SIUE students. In fact, that is what I plan on doing.

Leave a comment